National Mining Museum
A tour takes the visitors to the underground tunnels of “Walert” iron ore mine which were dug between 1891 and 1963. One discovers large tunnels on two different levels more than 70m below ground and see the impressive cavities left over by the miners while listening to the lively stories of your guide. The machines and tooling seen underground bears witness to iron ore mining in the entire region from the 1860s to the closure of the last Lorraine mine in 1997. The visitors experience more than a century of technical progress at the very spot it happened.
- Thursday14h00 – 18h00 (1. April - 30. June & 1. - 30. Sept.)
- Friday14h00 – 18h00 (1. April - 30. June & 1. - 30. Sept.)
- Saturday14h00 – 18h00 (1. April - 30. June & 1. - 30. Sept.)
- Closed01.11., 4.12. & 24.12 - 01.01 / ATTENTION: Open from 1 July to 31 August, Tuesdays to Sundays from 14h00 to 18h00.
- BusTice line 5 (Esch - Dudelange - Esch), Stop "Stadthaus"
- Vel'OH!Station near the museum
- CarVisitors parking available