Inscription newsletter


ICOM Luxembourg – at the service of Luxembourg’s museums

ICOM Luxembourg is the Luxembourg National Committee of the International Council of Museums (ICOM). ICOM was founded in 1946 and currently represents a network of over 45,000 museums and museum professionals in 138 countries, gathered in 32 international committees and 119 national committees, including ICOM Luxembourg.

The Luxembourg branch of ICOM was created in July 2017 with the aim of representing the interests of museums and museum professionals as well as organising the activities of ICOM in Luxembourg.

Its mission is to stimulate and coordinate the activities of the country’s museums and encourage professionalisation. Since 2021, ICOM Luxembourg has been managing the stater muséeën, the network of 7 museums and art centres in Luxembourg City, as well as Musées Luxembourg, the network of local museums which was set up in 2008.

Currently, ICOM Luxembourg has 41 institutional members and 161 individual members.

  • A network of
    institutional members
  • comprising
    museums in Luxembourg-City
  • and
    local museums
  • with
    individual members


ICOM Luxembourg pursues the following objectives:


Managing the activities of ICOM in Luxembourg
Representing the interests of museums and museum professionals
Representing the interests of its members within ICOM
Promoting the aims and projects of ICOM among museum professionals and museums in Luxembourg
Promoting training and exchanges between museum professionals and promoting knowledge and expertise in heritage conservation
Cooperating with the national and international committees of ICOM as well as national and international museum-related bodies and professions

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of ICOM Luxembourg is composed of:

  • Frank Schroeder (President)
    Director of the National Museum of Resistance and Human Rights
  • Guy Thewes (Vice-president)
    Director of the 2 Museums of the City of Luxembourg
  • Ruta Franke (Secretary)
    Assistant Director of Casino Luxembourg
  • Patrick Michaely (Treasurer)
    Director of the National Museum of Natural History
  • Jamie Armstrong
    Head of the Lëtzebuerger Konschtarchiv, MNAHA
  • Marie-Noëlle Farcy
    Curator/Head of Collection, Mudam Luxembourg
  • Adeline Karcher
    General coordinator of the Museum "A Possen"
  • André Kirsch
    Manager of the Thillenvogtei Museum
  • João Martins
    Coordinator of the Tudor Museum
  • Michel Polfer
    Director of the Musée national d'archéologie, d'histoire et d'art
  • Bettina Steinbrügge
    Director of Mudam Luxembourg
  • Carine Welter
    Director of the Musée d’Histoire(s) Diekirch

General Assembly

The General Assembly is made up of all the members of ICOM Luxembourg. It amends the organisation’s statutes, approves its accounts, sets the annual membership fees and elects the members of the Board of Directors. The General Assembly meets each year before 30 April.


Laura Zaccaria
T +352 691 377 449


Since 2021, ICOM Luxembourg has been coordinating the public events Museum Night and Luxembourg Museum Days. The Museum Night is the flagship event of museums in Luxembourg City. The Luxembourg Museum Days are an open-door event with free entrance to all the ICOM museums across the country.